top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNova Garnier

What's plan B?

I talk a lot about planning and how I'm creating this amazing life for myself, but at the end of the day, sometimes life just happens and we can't plan for everything. The funny thing is, as soon as you think you may have it figured out, BOOM, life throws you another curve-ball.


I've got my plan A squared away, but the likelihood of plan A actually going the way I expect it to, is basically impossible. So what about plan B? How do you plan for the unexpected? Is it possible to create a contingency plan for life? I would say yes and no. I think it's possible to have a back option if something doesn't work out - what's your fall back plan. But also no, because we can only control what's within our internal locus of control. We can't plan for heartbreaks, we can't plan for little people to come into our lives and know what decisions we're going to make in the moment, we can't plan for job loss when we thought we had security, especially in the current economical climate.  


Chances are, if you're not a planner, you're probably thinking, "well Nova, planning seems like a waste of time if nothing is going to go as I want it to?". And my answer to you my friend is, you're not wrong. However, by having a plan, it gives me a sense of preparation. I think having a vision for my life will help me to create opportunities, rather than sit around and wait for things to come to me.


Change is inevitable. It all comes down to how you handle the situation placed in front of you. It's okay to sit around and be sad about it for a moment, but at what point do you accept how things are and do something to make the most of your situation. Change is a great thing, I love it. It allows you to heal and grow all at once. It's an opportunity to reflect and help you realise what you really want in this life. Change is also scary, terrifying in fact! But you know what's more scary than change? Staying in a situation that no longer serves you.


If I've learnt anything from this year, it's that you can't force anything, jobs, friendships, or relationships. What's meant to be will be. Don't force things to stay in your life, if it's meant to be, it will find it's way back to you.


Now, to overthinking the past... trust me, I'm guilty of it. I am always replaying old conversations and moments in my mind, thinking about what I wish I had or hadn't said. It's important to remember we can't change the past, and as old mate Rafiki (Lion King) said:

“The past can hurt. But the way I see it, you can either run from it, or learn from it.”

It's okay to embrace uncertainty and messy thoughts, you're not alone in those confusions and thoughts, and trust me, it will eventually work out exactly as it was supposed to. So while you're still figuring it all out, make sure you're kind to yourself. Breathe, re-adjust, and do your thing. Focus on what's within your internal locus of control.


As always, thanks for reading.


Love,


Nova xo



81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page