top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNova Garnier

Degree done.

Holy moly, I actually did it. I completed university! Say hello to the new, super ecstatic, qualified with a Bachelor of Commerce, double major in Human Resources and Business Management, Nova Garnier!! Nova 2.0 if you like *Crowds cheering* I'm so proud of myself, not only as a woman but as an Indigenous Woman for accomplishing this!


What a journey! From getting on the train, stepping on campus for the first time as a new student, to finally completing my studies part-time whilst working in a full-time capacity. You really expect to uni to be a straight line, but in reality, it's more of a whirly whirly. It has taken a lot out of me to get this far, but I can honestly say I'd do it again. University gave me so much more than just a formal education. University opened up so many doors for me, from attending the 2020 National Woman's NAIDOC conference to sitting in a zoom workshop with Adam Goodes and Stan Grant!!!


My time capsule of the uni experience:


First-year consisted of a lot of all-nighters, with several cups of coffee and Redbull to smash out an assignment last minute, whilst working as a waitress. In my first year, I wasn't really too sure why I was studying, it was a very confusing time for me. I suppose it just seemed like the right thing to do after completing ATAR in year 11 and 12.


Second-year looked a little different... working in the shearing sheds, while studying part-time. I began to question if I should even be at university. After several life lessons, I quickly worked out what I definitely didn't want my life to look like in 10 years time and I knew I needed to make some changes.


Third-year things started falling into place. I started my first office job at Curtin University running an Indigenous student recruitment program. This created so many professional and personal development opportunities, from the 2018 NAIDOC Women's Conference in Sydney to Yokai networking forum's. In this year I found my purpose, I found my life calling.


Fourth-year, the year hard work starts to pay off! Moved to Darwin, found an apartment I loved, and started a new role at Charles Darwin University while finishing studies. This has by far been the best year of my life so far. It's the best feeling when you can reflect and appreciate how far you've come, and grown as a person.


The thing that kept me going through all of this was my support network. There are so many people who really believed in me and what I have to offer the world, and for that I am grateful beyond words.


I'm so grateful for everyone who supported me along this journey and believed in me, especially when I doubted myself.


So whether it’s your first or last year of study, remember it's okay to not know where you may end up once you've finished your degree. Take me for example, I've stumbled into opportunities which presented themselves from hard work and dedication. Don't put too much pressure on yourself, trust the right job will come along when the time is right. You've got this!


So what's next in my game of life? Guess we'll just have to wait and see...


As always, thanks for reading!


Love,


Nova xo

112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Memories

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page