top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNova Garnier

Trial and Error

I have found that life is simply just a constant re-occurrence of trial and error... many, many, many errors! My thoughts are, that even if something doesn't work out, it's about being thankful for the experience, accepting the lesson, and most importantly, continuing to grow. It has taken me quite some time to learn to just accept things for what they are and let things that go that don't work out (and to be completely honest, I'm still working on this one).


Whether I live for a week or another 70 years, I don't want to look back at my life and wonder, what if? What would have happened if I had just lived within my comfort zone? What would have happened if I never took a chance, believed in myself, and put myself out there? We only have one life and I intend to live mine to the absolute fullest!


There are two scenarios that come to mind when I think of the"big" moments so far that I have trialed something and it worked out exactly as the universe intended it to.


Number 1: My first office job


In the summer of 2018, I was taking a break from uni, moved back home with mum, I was working in the shearing sheds and doing ad-hoc farm work. It was hard work but it was good pay! A friend of mine was leaving her role in the city and messaged me encouraging me to apply. I saw the message on my lunch break in an old rustic shearing shed while eating my ham and cheese toastie. I had a read of the job description and sent it to mum for her thoughts. Applications for the role closed that night. When I got home mum said straight away "this sounds perfect for you!". My thoughts were, "I'll never get it. I've never worked in an office before. I'm only 19. I have no idea how to run a program". Mum and I decided to go out on a limb and submit a quickly drawn up resume and cover letter. Long story short, I got the job, stayed in it, and loved it for 1.5 years. Moral of the story - put yourself out there! You'll never know how amazing something could turn out to be. Plus, in hindsight, if I had never applied and got that role, I probably never would have gone back to study, moved to another state, and working in my current role.


Number 2: Moving States


When people ask about my "big" move to the NT, they often question "but how did you do it? Weren't you scared you wouldn't like it?". Of course, I was scared, but more than that, I was excited! For the first time, I realised the world truly is my oyster and I could do anything if I put my mind to it! Lucky for me I had a very strong, supportive network behind me who were encouraging me to go! I knew that at the end of the day, if 3 months into it, I decided it wasn't for me, I knew to come home I could.


To quote a childhood favourite song:

"So much to do so much to see
So what's wrong with taking the back streets?
You'll never know if you don't go
You'll never shine if you don't glow"
- Allstar, Smash Mouth

My personal belief is that all things happen for a reason, call it what you will, destiny, fate.. but regardless you have to truly believe when one door closes another opens, even if you can't see it at the time. My best advice I can offer with the trial and error lifestyle is to never half-ass or halfheartedly do anything. If you're going to try something new, give it 110% every time, otherwise, you're not getting the full experience. There is a whole world out there and so many opportunities with your name on it!


To bestow you with some great Bernie (mum) wisdom that I have been blessed with my entire life, everyone that we meet has an influence in some way or another and makes up the fabric of who we are, so make sure you always show us a little kindness everywhere you go. I hope you're too never be afraid to try something new! Look at it this way, what's the worst that can happen? It doesn't work out, and at least now you know and gave it a go.


Growing up I was a firm believer in Timon & Pumbaa's "Hakuna Matata". It has now grown into "Chuck it in the F*@k it bucket!". So take a deep breath and step into a world of possibilities.


Love,


Nova xo


112 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page