top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNova Garnier

22 things I learnt before turning 22.

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

With my birthday only a few weeks away, I've spent the last few days reflecting on my year of 21. Wow did it fly by! The past 6 months have been crazy, let alone the past 12!

It has definitely been adventure fuelled and the best year yet! From jelly wrestling, costume competition's, swimming in croc infested waters to almost finishing my degree, this year has been nothing short of amazing.


Anyone that knows me, knows I love a good list! A shopping list, a to-do list, a bucket list... the list goes on (literally hehe). So here's another one for ya! I have compiled a list of 22 things I have learnt so far. In no particular order:

  1. Only buy the expensive shampoo and conditioner when it's half price.

  2. Everything happens for a reason. Have faith that the universe has a plan for you.

  3. It's okay to make mistakes. It’s okay to fail a Uni unit (in my case several units). Our mistakes do not define us. Our resilience does.

  4. Just cry, let it out! Sit in your car, blast sad music, and cry your eyes out! Trust me, you’ll feel better.

  5. It's okay to live pay check to pay check while you’re young (sorry Uncle Chop, I will work on my buckets!).

  6. You’ll probably fall in and out of love a hundred times before you find the one you end up with.

  7. Just be yourself. You are unique! Don’t care so much about what other people think. If the people around you don’t support you, find new people!

  8. Don’t lower your standards for anything or anyone.

  9. Probably not going to find a boyfriend on tinder – lol.

  10. Eat your greens! Drink more water!

  11. Try news things! I can not stress this enough!Take that class you've been meaning to take!

  12. It’s okay to do things alone! Go to the movies (more popcorn for you), take yourself out for dinner without your phone and take a good book.

  13. It’s okay to let go... of old friendships, relationships, bad habits. If something is no longer serving you in a positive way, just let it go.

  14. Clean out your wardrobe every six months (donate to the op shop!). It's refreshing! Marie Kondo that sh*t!

  15. Don’t be impulsive. I have recently tried adopting the 15 day rule. If you find something you like, check the price, write it down on a sticky note and put it on the fridge. After 15 days, if you still want it, you can get it.

  16. Invest in good bed sheets! But wait for them to go on sale of course!

  17. Sometimes you need to create your own happiness. Self-love is the way to go my friend!

  18. You can go out sober and still have fun! To be truthful, I probably have more fun going out sober.

  19. Get into a routine! Wake up, make your bed, go for a walk, enjoy your coffee and go earn that money!

  20. Life is hard. Show a little kindness everywhere you go.

  21. Stand for what you believe in! Use your voice to make a difference!

  22. Life's short, so why not live it to the fullest.

Just enjoy the small things. That's what makes life worthwhile, and I wouldn't change it for the world.


Thanks for reading.


Love,


Nova xo



175 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page